Implications pour l'utilisation du MEAH

Le MEAH a des implications importantes pour: (1) les personnes qui font face à une menace ou un défi important. Cela inclut les maladies chroniques et palliatives, mais aussi les situations et expériences difficiles à vivre et à surmonter. Et (2) pour les personnes qui écoutent et réagissent à cette expérience.

1. Pour les personnes confrontées à une menace ou à un défi

Le MEAH souligne l'importance de tenir compte des émotions, de l'espoir et de l'adaptation psychologique à une menace ou à un défi jugé important et important pour le narrateur de l'expérience. L’expérience d’une menace ou d’un défi est relative et propre à la personne, car elle dépend des circonstances et de nombreux autres facteurs susceptibles d’avoir une incidence sur le caissier (ex.: Présence d’une autre maladie, être parent, perte du travail du fait de la menace ou défi, besoin d'argent pour payer les factures, avoir eu des difficultés avec un membre du personnel avant de voir l'auditeur, ne pas pouvoir se garer avant une réunion, etc.). Ainsi, nous ne pouvons pas supposer juger ce qui nous a été dit au départ. Cependant, si la réponse est unique, les réactions psychologiques au COT et à la maladie présentent des caractéristiques communes. Ces caractéristiques communes représentent: (a) la manière dont l’espoir est considéré et vu, (b) si la reconnaissance de ce qui se passe est possible ou non, et (c) l’émotion particulière représentée par l’expérience (par exemple, tristesse, frustration, embarras). 

 

2.  Les personnes qui veulent vivre avec une menace ou un défi

La réaction des auditeurs vis-à-vis des expériences d'écoute liées à une table des matières peut avoir un impact puissant sur le narrateur. La réponse donnée peut être positionnée pour atteindre certains résultats. Ceux-ci pourraient être des résultats valorisés, connus, attendus ou souhaités du point de vue des auditeurs. Le danger est que l'auditeur classe les réactions comme étant bonnes ou mauvaises, fausses ou justes, déniées ou embrassées, réalistes ou irréalistes. Il peut y avoir des raisons qui expliquent cette réponse. Par exemple, la culture, la pression ou la formation peuvent refléter une réponse cohérente de l'auditeur, par exemple un professionnel de la santé d'une manière particulière en utilisant une classification de cette réponse.

Le MEAH fournit une raison de ne pas classer les réponses. Les mots singuliers classifient souvent les réactions en fonction d'une étape d'adaptation (déni, acceptation, colère) ou de jugement sur l'espoir représenté (réaliste vs irréaliste). Le MEAH montre à quel point il est si important d'écouter les expériences et les récits liés à une table des matières et pourquoi il est nécessaire de s'éloigner des évaluations de l'adaptation à l'aide de mots singuliers. Les mots singuliers impliquent ou catégorisent souvent les réactions comme étant bonnes ou mauvaises, utiles ou inutiles. Le MEAH confirme que les réponses sont relatives et spécifiques et représentées par l'espoir, l'adaptation et les émotions. Pour limiter la compréhension de l'adaptation psychologique à une seule catégorie ou à une seule réponse, les réponses stéréotypées à la maladie peuvent représenter une réponse que l'auditeur souhaite entendre. Le MEAH illustre la plus grande représentation de l'adaptation psychologique et identifie le besoin de se concentrer sur les histoires de maladie.

 

Résumé

Le MEAH peut être comme suit:

Améliorer la compréhension des intrigues communes de la maladie

Dans le cadre de la formation visant à accroître l'empathie chez les professionnels de la santé

Fourni aux personnes confrontées à des menaces qui l'utilisent comme outil de dépistage

 

Lectures complémentaires

Veuillez examiner les sous-sections spécifiques du site Web pour plus de détails sur le MEAH et des détails sur le développement de la formation pour différents groupes.

Implications for using the MEAH

The MEAH has important implications for; (1) people who face a significant threat or challenge. This includes chronic and palliative illness but also includes situations and experience which are difficult to experience and overcome. And (2) for people who are listening to and responding to this experience.

1. For people who face a threat or challenge

The MEAH highlights the importance considering emotions, hope and psychological adaptation to a threat or challenge  which is deemed significant and important to the teller of the experience. The experience of a threat or challenge   is relative and unique to the person, because it depends on circumstances and many other factors which may be impacting the teller (e.g., having other illness present, being a parent, losing a job as a result of the threat or challenge , needing money to pay the bills, having experienced difficulty with a member of staff before seeing the listener, not being able to park before a meeting etc). Thus, we can't assume to judge what we are initially told, however, whilst the response is unique, psychological reactions to TOC and illness contain common features. These common features represent: (a) how hope is regarded and change seen, (b) whether acknowledgement of what is happening is possible or not and (c) the particular emotion that is represented by the experience (e.g., sadness, frustration,  embarrassment).  

 

The MEAH reveals that a response to illness can be captured or mapped by an individuals story. Research has identified that the common illness story plots (e.g., heroic, restorative, tragic, faith) can be mapped by their common psychological features. The importance of this is that as people share their story they are revealing a different psychological response to a threat or challenge . This is particularly important when peers share stories that provide a way to overcome the threat or challenge . Given this, it can be stated that sharing stories provides a non-confrontational way to influence psycho-emotional adaptation.  This is important because it reveals that having access to different stories provides a basis for psychological adaptation. I have been able to illustrate this on the section of the website that is labelled 'the MEAH and story plots'.  

2. People who respond to hearing the experience of living with a threat or challenge 

The listeners'  reaction to hearing experiences of relating to a threat or challenge  can have a powerful impact on the teller. The response given may be positioned to achieve a certain outcomes. These could be valued, known, expected or wanted outcomes from the listeners perspective. The danger is that the listener classifies reactions as good or bad, wrong or right, denied or embraced, realistic or unrealistic. There may be reasons which explain this response.  For instance culture, pressure or training may reflect a consistent response from listener e.g., a health care professional in a particular way using a classification of that response.   

The MEAH provides a reason not to classify responses. Singular words often classify reactions in terms of a stage of adaptation (denial, acceptance, anger) or judgement on the hope represented (realistic vs unrealistic).  The MEAH provides evidence of why  listening to experiences and stories relating to a TOC is so important and evidence of why moving away from assessments of adaptation using singular words is required.  Singular words often imply or categorise reactions as being right or wrong, useful or useless. The MEAH confirms that responses are relative and specific and represented by hope, adaptation and emotions.  To limit understanding of psychological adaptation to just one category or response may buy into stereotypical responses to illness, it may represent what response the listener wants to hear. The MEAH provides an illustration of the greater representation of psychological adaptation and identifies a need to focus on illness stories.

Summary

The MEAH can be in the following ways: 

  • To enhance the understanding common story plots of illness

  • As a part of training to increase empathy in health care professionals

  • Provided to people facing threats using it as a screening tool  

 

Further Reading

Please consider the specific sub-sections of the website for more details of the MEAH and details of the development of training for different groups.  

© Andy Soundy Site Version 1.7 updated 22/01/2020