心理情緒適應

需要了解心理適應的過程和與適應有關的反應範圍。聽眾需要以非評判的方式考慮心理適應。過去的證據(Soundy et al。,2010; 2010; 2013)已經說明了適應性是由醫療保健專業人員使用特定詞語(如接受,拒絕或憤怒)來描述的。這些話可能是對階段適應的一些理解,例如它們可以代表庫伯勒 - 羅斯(1969)的工作,該工作考慮否認,憤怒,討價還價,沮喪和接受。它被認為是在不同背景下考慮其他工作的基礎,例如(Perlman和Takacs,1990)將其擴展到10個變化階段。最近總結了這項工作,以代表傳統的適應階段或階段模型(Smedema,Bakken-Gillen,&Dalton,2009)。這些模型對於考慮與疾病經歷有關的適應性過程非常重要。然而,它們並不能完全代表最近對疾病表達的理解,包括適應,情緒和希望(Soundy等,2016; Soundy,2018)。

過去對與適應有關的表達的理解確定了希望作為對疾病反應的一部分的重要性,並且作為在階段模型中特別確定的事物,因為它與例如通過識別抑鬱症的損失經歷有關(Kübler-羅斯,1969年)或混亂的經歷(Perlman和Takacs,1990)。但是,這些類別並未更全面地確定未來的希望或未來的希望。傳統的適應模式的另一個危險是建立的反應類別可以被認為是正確的,理想的或正確的,而不是正確的,不恰當的或錯誤的。這與最近的理解相反,即疾病的故事不是由一類適應所代表的(Soundy,2018)。庫伯勒 - 羅斯(Kübler-Ross,1969)的早期工作也確定了能量與反應相關性的重要性,並確定了能量與適應相關的結構。這很重要,因為它可以識別情緒的影響。其他工作(Wright 1983)認識到諸如羞恥或內疚之類的其他情感,這些情感是疾病的社會經歷或恐懼和焦慮的一部分。這些對疾病的情緒反應被確定為阻止接受所發生事件的因素。因此,在心理適應的階段和階段需要比情緒反應的類別更廣泛的理解。

對故事的反應說明了疾病的經歷可以有共同的情節。我們有證據表明,當醫療保健專業人員考慮,傾聽和回應疾病的常見故事時,他們會通過有限的方式對經驗或敘述進行分類來實現。這方面的一個例子可能是醫療保健專業人員將敘述視為現實(與通過表達確定的希望相關的判斷),或“拒絕”(通過表達疾病來確定適應過程的判斷) 。這種類型的分類代表了直接識別哪些有效或無效,與康復目標一致。醫療保健專業人員非常擅長確定哪些反應是理想的和現實的,哪些不在康復環境中。這種判斷的危險在於可以減少患病個體所揭示的故事,背景和因素,並根據患者的反應對患者進行分類。本書的一個關鍵目標是識別類別,但不對其作出判斷。其原因如下。

心理適應需求 健康的心理適應需要特定的適應需求(Soundy和Elder,2018)。這些包括; (a)需要識別那些在一個人的生命中具有個人意義的事物,並承認TCC對一個人的陳述情況的影響,並認識到可能既是積極的也是消極的結果的無法控製或未知的未來,並且接受可能需要因此,改變一個人的目標,計劃和行動。 (b)賦予權力的感覺,使個人能夠通過自己的信念感和願意採取行動以取得TCC的所有權。隨著這成為現實,行動開始,個人變得更加獨立,能夠應對TCC。有能力創造和共同理解管理是如何可能的,但是如果不能賦予權力,則需要通過互動來保持尊嚴。這兩種需求都受到影響希望的因素的影響(Soundy et al。,2014)以及為體驗帶來意義的情感表達(Soundy,2018),可能需要時間來理解。

Understanding psycho-emotional adaptation

There is a need to understand the process of psychological adaptation and the range of responses relating to adaptation. The listener is required to consider psychological adaptation in a non-judgmental way. Past evidence (Soundy et al., 2010; 2010; 2013) has illustrated adaptation is described by health care professionals using specific words (like acceptance, denial, or anger). These words likely some understanding of adaptation in stages for instance they could represent consideration to the work of Kübler-Ross (1969) which considers denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. It was considered as a basis for other work to be considered within different context for e.g., (Perlman and Takacs, 1990) expanded it to 10 phases of change. This work is summarized more recently to represent traditional phase or stage models of adaptation (Smedema, Bakken-Gillen, & Dalton, 2009). These models are important for the consideration of adaptive processes that are involved in the experiences of illness. However, they do not fully represent the more recently developed understanding of the illness expressions which includes adaptation, emotion and hope (Soundy et al., 2016; Soundy, 2018).

The past understanding of expressions relating to adaptation identify the importance of hope as a part of the response to illness and as something which is particularly identified in the stage models as it relates to the experience of loss for instance through the identification of depression (Kübler-Ross, 1969) or the experience of chaos (Perlman and Takacs, 1990). However, these categories do not identify hope more generally or what is hoped for in the future. The other danger of the traditional models of adaptation is that categories of responses are established which may be considered as correct, ideal or right versus less correct, inappropriate or wrong. This is in contrast to recent understanding that stories of illness are not represented by one category of adaptation (Soundy, 2018). The early work by Kübler-Ross (1969) also identified the importance of energy in relatedness to the response and identified that as a construct which accompanied adaptation. This is important because it recognizes the impact of emotions. Other work (Wright 1983) recognizes alternative emotions such as shame or guilt experienced as part of the social experience of illness or fear and anxiety as a period of crisis. These emotional responses to illness are identified as factor which prevents acceptance of what has happened. Thus, broader understanding than the categories of emotional responses are needed within stage and phase of psychological adaptation. 

Reactions to the stories of that illustrate the experiences of illness can have common plots. We have evidence that suggests that when health care professionals consider, listen to and respond to common stories of illness, they do so by categorising the experience or narrative in limited ways. An example of this could be health care professionals identifying a narrative as realistic (judgement relating to the hope that is identified through an expression), or as being ‘in denial’ (judgement relating to the process of adaptation identified through an expression of illness). This type of categorisation represents a direct identification of what works or doesn’t work alongside the goals of rehabilitation. Health care professionals become very good at identifying what responses are ideal and realistic and what are not within a rehabilitation setting. The danger of such judgements is that the story, context and factors which are revealed by an individual with illness can be reduced and the patient categorised by their response. A key aim of this book is to recognise categories but not make a judgement upon them. The reasons for this are considered below.

Psychological adaptation needs

Specific adaptation needs are needed for a healthy psychological adaptation (Soundy and Elder, 2018). These include; (a) the need to identify those things which are personally meaningful in one’s life and acknowledge the impact of a TCC into one’s presentation situation and recognising a uncontrollable or unknown future that could being both positive or negative outcomes and have an acceptance that there may need to be a change in one’s goals, plans and actions as a result. (b) a sense of empowerment which enables an individual through their own sense of belief and a willingness to act in order to take ownership of the TCC. As this becomes a reality and action begins individuals becomes more independent and able to coping with the TCC. There is an ability to create and co-create understanding of how management is possible, however there is a need to preserve dignity through interaction if empowerment is not possible. Both needs are affected by the factors which influence hope (Soundy et al., 2014) as well as emotional expressions which bring meaning to experience (Soundy, 2018) and may require time to understand.

© Andy Soundy Site Version 1.7 updated 22/01/2020